Kale and Corn Quesadillas

Hi, I’m Brianne. I have a gluten intolerance. I wish I was dating someone who would come up with a clever name for my problem à la “lactard,” which remains the funniest nickname I’ve received to date. (Aside from bran muffin, which is just adorable. But contains gluten.)

So, as of two weeks ago, I’m 99% gluten and lactose free. I want to die a little every time I have to think of a way to feed myself, but without gluten, my stomach feels a million years better. I hate those people who go gluten-free because it’s a cool thing to do – but I’m telling you, doctor’s orders made me decide to start cutting this shit out. The difference is staggering.  I’m no longer dreading to go out with friends, grocery shopping, running, to yoga, or to work (ok, well, let’s not get carried away…). I used to sit in my office miserable and completely anxious after every meal. Going to meetings was felt out of the question. Taking the elevator. Seeing people. My crazy-fucked-up stomach problems have isolated me much more than my inherent bluntness and outward cruelty. Thank you, whoever suggested I had a gluten problem. Thank you, gastroenterologist for relentlessly helping me. Oh, and let’s not forget you, people of Mexico, for making corn tortillas and giving me a rejuvenated spirit.

I was pretty thrilled when I realized corn tortillas are usually gluten-free –I was running around Target like a kid in a gluten-free candy store. Rushed over to the salsa section to complete this idea. Bought a ton of sliced swiss. Gluten free products are ridiculously overpriced, so friends who are g-free can relate to this feeling of excitement for finding something affordable to eat.

So I pretty much insist that quesadillas be served with salsa, because what else are tortillas used for, other than a vehicle for consuming awesome salsa? Then, I decided to try heating up some frozen kale and some corn I have. When that was hot, I thought to myself, “Self, garlic might be real good in this.” So, I threw in some seriously minced garlic.

It was like the heavens collided inside of my mouth when I finally took a bite. I don’t know WHY I didn’t think of this sooner. It was a gluten, almost lactose-free miracle.

I am overjoyed.

(Also, you know what else is pretty cool: most places now mark things as gluten-free. Thank you world for helping me.)

Kale & Corn Quesadillas
(actually slightly original recipe!)

2 corn tortillas (confirm G-free!)
2 slices swiss cheese (or about 3/4 cup shredded)
1/2 cup frozen kale or spinach
1/4 cup frozen corn
1 garlic clove, seriously minced
1/2 cup salsa, to serve

Put corn and kale into a bowl. Microwave for about 1-2 minutes or to packet instructions. Stir in garlic.

Heat 1 tortilla in a large non-stick skillet on high heat. After about a min, turn heat down to medium and add 1 slice cheese. Put as much or as little of corn/kale mixture on the cheese. Add another slice on top. After about another minute or two, place second tortilla on top. Press down with a wide spatula. When bottom tortilla looks a bit crisp (you can check by just lifting slightly) flip over. Press down again. Crisp on this side for another 2 or so minutes, adjusting heat as necessary. Crisp to desired crispiness.

Let sit for about a minute, then slice into quarters!

Tips:
~ you could use fresh ingredients but this is a seriously budget friendly meal. Another option would be to make an easy corn/black bean salsa and put that inside.
~ you could also use cheddar or any other cheese. Swiss naturally has little to no lactose, so I prefer it. It also compliments the kale quite, quite well.
~ I can’t eat sour cream. So if you can, I hate you, but also, enjoy it.
~ guacamole is also gluten and lactose free. eat it up.

I might share photos as some point.  Just know I have eaten this every night since Tuesday.

One thought on “Kale and Corn Quesadillas

Leave a comment